“Save the Frick Collection,” by David Masello,
The New York Times, June 12, 2014


Unite to Save the Frick is made up of concerned individuals and organizations from New York City, across the U.S. and around the world. We are architects and landscape architects, historians, design professionals, scholars, artists, authors, preservation advocates, art and museum critics, journalists, students, and members of the Frick Collection.


We unite to protect the Frick’s signature ensemble of elements from short-sighted destruction and to advocate for responsible modernization.


Hundreds of  individuals and groups are expressing support for a thoughtful approach to landmarks stewardship and modernization at the Frick. Join them, along with these important allies:


American Horticultural Society

American Society of Landscape Architects, New York Chapter

Ron Barrett, illustrator & artist

Bowery Alliance of Neighbors

Stephen F. Byrns, architect & former commissioner, NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission

Madison Cox, garden designer

Lori Cuisinier, artist

Lewis Cullman, philanthropist

Defenders of the Historic Upper East Side

Hester Diamond, art collector & interior designer

Andrew Scott Dolkart, architectural historian & Director of Columbia University’s
masters program in Historic Preservation

Tom L. Freudenheim, retired museum director & arts critic

Garden Club of America

Garden Club of Twenty, a chartered club of the Garden Club of America

Betsy Gotbaum, former Commissioner, Dept. of Parks & Recreation & former Public Advocate

Roberta Brandes Gratz, journalist, author & former commissioner, NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission

Historic Districts Council

Ben Kinmont, conceptual artist


Library of American Landscape History

Maya Lin, artist & designer

Victoria Newhouse, architectural historian

Peter Pennoyer, FAIA

Annette de la Renta, philanthropist

Katie Ridder, interior designer

Dorothea Rockburne, artist

Elizabeth Barlow Rogers, author, designer & founder, Central Park Conservancy and
the Foundation for Landscape Studies

Witold Rybczynski, architect and critic

Martha Frick Symington Sanger, author & great-granddaughter of Henry Clay Frick

Marina Schinz, photographer

Adrian Smith, landscape architect, Trustee of ASLA New York City chapter

Beverly Moss Spatt, former commissioner, NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission

Suzanne Stephens, architectural journalist, editor & critic

Robert A.M. Stern, architect, Dean of the Yale University School of Architecture

Ann Stokes, ASLA, landscape architect

Lynton Wells, artist



Click here to join the campaign.

It only takes a moment and makes an incredible impact.